A Taste of Brazil – Quindim

.

QUINDIM is a popular Brazilian baked dessert, made chiefly from sugar, egg yolks, and ground coconut. It is a custard and has a glistening surface and intensely yellow color.

The dessert follows the characteristic of Portuguese sweets and pastries, which is heavily based on egg yolks. It is believed that this dessert is a colonial adaptation made in the17th century, since coconuts and sugar (from sugarcane) are abundant in Brazil. The word itself comes from an African language (Bantu), and originally meant “the gestures, and demeanor, and humor characteristic of adolescent girls – girlish charm.”

***********************************************************************
5 egg yolks + 5 eggs
400gr sugar
100gr unsweetened shredded coconut (preferably fresh)

(note – freshly grated coconut really makes this dish, but if you can’t find coconuts (or if like me you are to lazy to go through the trouble of grating one), you can use coconut flakes. If you are using sweetened coconut flakes reduce the sugar by half so it’s not overly sweet.)

Stir everything (do not beat! just mix!) and bake in a mold, oiled and sprinkled with sugar (or individual molds or ramekins like I did), in a waterbed for 25 minutes or until the top is golden.

Let it cool until the mold is warm and you can touch it without getting burn, slide a sharp knife around the edge of the cups and turn the quindins out onto a plate. Take to the fridge and serve when cold.

10 responses to “A Taste of Brazil – Quindim

  1. I already commented this picture on the group “Pleasures palate/Piaceri del palato), but I just wanted to see the recipe and to keep it for baking it as soon as I have a special dinner with friends and family.

    Again I would like to thank you for the beautiful picture and lovely recipe. It reminds me of a wonderful time in Brazil.

    Saudações de Espanha.

    • You are more than welcome. 🙂 Quindim is a delicious dessert. When you decide to bake some at home let me know.
      Abrazos desde Brasil.

  2. Nunca provei, mas só de olhar tenho a certeza que gosto 🙂
    Em Portugal temos um doce idêntico na região de Leiria que se chama Brizas do Liz.
    Na primeira oportunidade vou ter que fazer esses quindins.

    • Eu adoro quindim. Conheço o Brizas do Liz, mas ele tem amêndoas e não tem coco Moira.
      O Quindim é um exemplo típico da doçaria conventual portuguesa (gemas) adaptada aos trópicos (coco). 🙂

      PS: Existe também a massa pronta de quindim em caixinhas, pode ser que no Corte Inglês você encontre (pelo que me lembro eles tinham um bom estoque de produtos importados do Brasil).

      Beijinho.

  3. Acho que prefiro fazer eu a massa, não me parece nada difícil.
    Vai ser já no próximo aniversário, que é o da minha irmã no final do mês.
    Beijinho

  4. Vou fazer no fim de semana, estava agora a ler a receita com atenção e tive uma dúvida.
    Cozes em banho maria no forno, não é? E quando vai ao forno a água do banho maria é quente ou fria? A temperatura do forno pode ser média (180º) ?
    Desculpa tanta pergunta mas eu quero muito que dê certo, vou fazer para o aniversário do meu marido 🙂
    Beijocas

  5. Hi,

    I came to visit your blog after you added me as a contact at Flickr. 🙂

    Your blog is very nice, already added to my favorites. Beautiful pictures!

    Through your blog I discovered Tertulia de Sabores, another very nice blog.

    Hm, quindim, This is something I never tried to do. My husband loves it. It’s time to try. 🙂

    And I also have a question about the recipe. Do you beat the eggs and egg yolks first, then add the sugar and coconut and then just mix?

    Thank you and congratulations.

    Cheers,

    • Oi Carla,

      Obrigada pela visita. Eu misturo os ovos e os adiciono ao açúcar e o coco. A única coisa que se deve fazer mesmo é retirar a película que envolve a gema. Para isto, na hora de peneirar, use uma peneira de malha grossa e simplesmente fure as gemas com um garfo. Deixe-as passar naturalmente pela malha da peneira (sem usar espátula ou outro objeto). Assim, a película da gema ficará retida na peneira e o quindim não ficará com cheiro de ovo.

      O Tertúlias é um blogue excelente. Também inclui o Entre Panelas na minha lista de favoritos no blogue. 🙂

      Abraço.

      Maura

  6. Oi Maura,

    Obrigada pelas dicas! Vou fazer e depois te conto o resultado. 🙂

    Obrigada por ter incluído o Entre Panelas. Fico contente que tenha gostado. 🙂

    Beijo,

Leave a Reply

