Ginger Garlic Paste

.

Firmly rooted in the Indian cuisine, Ginger Garlic Paste is delicious, healthy and a must have at my kitchen. Easy to make, and if you are not inclined to make a fresh batch every month as I do, you can make a big one and freeze. Ginger Garlic Paste can be frozen for months.

Take 1 cup of peeled and sliced ginger root and 3/4 cup of peeled and sliced garlic. Add 1/4 tsp turmeric pwd, 3/4 tsp salt, 2 tbsp oil (I always use sesame oil, but canola or olive oil are fine too) and blend to make a smooth paste.

You can add equal quantity of ginger and garlic. I personally prefer to use less garlic.

Store in the fridge in a glass container.

For freezing you can: place some in ice-cube trays – about 2 tablespoons per compartment. Once frozen, transfer them to a container and keep in the freezer. When you need some for a recipe, take out as many cubes as you will need OR do as I do: fill a freezer safe ziploc bag with the ginger garlic paste and pat the bag to make a thin layer of the paste and then freeze, so whenever you want you can just break a piece of it and use.

2 responses to “Ginger Garlic Paste

  1. I’m intrigued by this – garlic and ginger are 2 of my favorite things and kitchen staples as well. please share with me how you use this paste – I want to try it and would love some ideas of how. Thanks!

    • I use this paste for a lot of things. Rice, meat, pork, poultry, sauces…
      Use it as a basic seasoning to which you can add any other spices – salt, paprika, herbs, etc.

Leave a Reply

