Food as Medicine: Raw Chocolate Mousse

.

No, I am not crazy. You read correctly. A healthy chocolate mousse. πŸ™‚

Cacao is good for your brain. I am not talking about the processed chocolate that has lost many of its nutrients. I am talking about using high quality cocoa powder or 99 – 95% bars.

Cacao has a high level of antioxidants, and is one of the highest dietary sources of magnesium. It is also a source of serotonin, dopamine and phenylethylamine, which are said to help alleviate depression and increase feelings of well-being

This is a dairy free recipe. A raw version. You will not believe how good this is!

I was skeptical myself at first. I read the recipe and thought “no way!”.

But I made it and I swear to you: It is the most amazing recipe. It taste just like (or even much better than) the “real” thing. You can use it for icing cakes and cupcakes or as a pie filling.

Please give it a try. Trust me. It takes 10 minutes to make.

(And after licking the spoon clean and fighting with your husband (or children) for the last bite let me know what you think.)

Ingredients:

2 medium ripe avocados
1 C of sugar (or the equivalent in agave)
1 C 100% cacao powder (You may need to adjust the amount of cocoa powder to your taste)
2 T coconut butter or oil
1 T vanilla extract
dash of sea salt
dash of cinnamon (optional)

Preparation:
Place everything in a blender or food processor and blend (on high) until very smooth.

Keep stored in an air-tight container in the fridge – that is, if it lasts long enough to make it to the fridge.

5 responses to “Food as Medicine: Raw Chocolate Mousse

  1. ok…trying it soon! thanks, but can i get your cake recipe as well….i wanna try to duplicate your photographed dessert! thanks!

    • It was a vegan cake – I will send you the recipe tomorrow. I had two, maybe three slices left, just crumbled them, and pressed very hard against the pan before pouring the mousse.

      But I am sure that any kind of cake (or biscuits) will do. πŸ™‚

  2. Wow, this looks so yummy! Took me a bit to understand what was going on…almost seems too simple! And I adore chocolate mousse πŸ™‚

  3. looks intriguing, I’ll try it! and for the cautious among us, it looks easy enough to halve the recipe…

  4. wow, that looks delicious – but the recipe sounds really strange. but now I’m curious about a chocolate mousse with avocado and will give this a try. I’ll let you know! πŸ™‚
    best, sabine

Leave a Reply

