Bircher Muesli

Bircher muesli is a traditional Swiss recipe which is far superior to any breakfast cereal (no matter what the packaging says) found on the market.

# For a gluten-free option, use rolled rice.
# For a dairy-free option use soy yogurt or soy milk.

1 cup rolled oats
1/2 lemon squeezed
1/2 cup warm water
1/2 cup fresh apple juice or orange juice
1/2 cup yogurt (sugar free is best)
handful currants or sultanas
handful chopped dried apricots (sulphur free is best)
(or dried figs, dates or prunes)
1 teaspoon of honey (optional)
* a sprinkling of ground nutmeg
* a sprinkling of ground cinnamon

* 1 apple, without seeds, grated (skin on)
* chopped almonds or any other nuts to serve.

Method:

Night before breakfast – Mix the oats, lemon juice, the dried fruits and warm water together, cover and soak overnight in the fridge.

Breakfast time – Drain any remaining water. Add juice, yogurt, dried fruits, nutmeg and cinnamon and stir together.

Add the grated apple, and garnish with almonds.

You can stick to the recipe or – always keeping the grated apple – do as I do a rotation of fruits and nuts, my favourite alternatives are: dried dates, dried figs and dried prunes and Brazilian Nuts (they are, of course, very cheap here) 🙂

Living in Brazil I always add tropical fruits. Try this with mango and/or papaya and it becomes close to sublimity.

11 responses to “Bircher Muesli

  1. OH FANTASTIC! I can’t wait to try this. Thanks for posting the recipe!

  2. I am printing this recipe. My best friend just came back from Europe (Germany) after 8 months and I will surprise her with a breakfast like this. She will forever kiss the ground I’m walking on.

  3. Found it on the Flickr group. I want to try it, it looks delicious!

    • It is delicious and you can use plain or flavoured yogurt and the fruits of the season. The only thing that does remain always is the grated apple.
      If you try let me know the result!

  4. oh Maura thank you so much for this recipe. i am definitely hooked on it, it’s scrumptious and soo healthy. have been preparing it with my homemade yoghurt, also your recipe (((: , and yesterday i found dried Cranberries, which i added in the overnight soaking process…hmmm!!!!
    thank you again, your recipes are all fabulous, scrumptious, easy to make and health conscious!!!! abrazos, Ute

  5. So I finally got to make this for the first time this morning and I LOOOOOOVE it!! It kept me full through my 4 hour french class which was a blessing. I’m going to eat this every morning at work until I am sick of it. THANK YOU!!!!

    • 🙂 You are welcome. To avoid boredom play with different yogurts and fruits (and nuts).

  6. This is very delicious!!
    I only had raisins and prunes as the dry fruits, and added toasted hazelnuts just before serving. I cannot wait to experiment and try it with the variations you suggest. I will also try maple syrup as the sweetener.
    I am a Brazilian living in the US, and the fact that you live in Brazil caught my attention. Have you tried serving this using one-half small papaya as a bowl? I bet it would be heavenly (oh, how I miss Brazilian papayas – sigh).
    Thanks for the recipe!

    • Você pode usar as frutas que quiser (secas ou frescas) – a idéia de servir em meio papaya é bonita, mas a quantidade de muesli que vai caber dentro dele é pouca. Não sei se vale a pena para o dia a dia. Para um café da manhã “especial”, sem dúvida. 🙂

Leave a Reply

