A Taste of Brazil – Quindim

QUINDIM is a popular Brazilian baked dessert, made chiefly from sugar, egg yolks, and ground coconut. It is a custard and has a glistening surface and intensely yellow color.

The dessert follows the characteristic of Portuguese sweets and pastries, which is heavily based on egg yolks. It is believed that this dessert is a colonial adaptation made in the17th century, since coconuts and sugar (from sugarcane) are abundant in Brazil. The word itself comes from an African language (Bantu), and originally meant “the gestures, and demeanor, and humor characteristic of adolescent girls – girlish charm.”

***********************************************************************
5 egg yolks + 5 eggs
400gr sugar
100gr unsweetened shredded coconut (preferably fresh)

(note – freshly grated coconut really makes this dish, but if you can’t find coconuts (or if like me you are to lazy to go through the trouble of grating one), you can use coconut flakes. If you are using sweetened coconut flakes reduce the sugar by half so it’s not overly sweet.)

Stir everything (do not beat! just mix!) and bake in a mold, oiled and sprinkled with sugar (or individual molds or ramekins like I did), in a waterbed for 25 minutes or until the top is golden.

Let it cool until the mold is warm and you can touch it without getting burn, slide a sharp knife around the edge of the cups and turn the quindins out onto a plate. Take to the fridge and serve when cold.

4 responses to “A Taste of Brazil – Quindim

  1. When I saw all the eggs and sugar, it reminded my of zabaglione. MMMMM.

  2. True, however Zabaglione (which I love!) has a mousse-like texture.

    Quindim is a moist yummyness! Like a Creme Caramel without the caramel glaze.

  3. I’ll have to try it. 🙂

    (I think I like zabaglione so much because my nonna would soak lady fingers in some type of booze and line the bowl with them. I don’t think I’ve had it since she passed away a few years ago – I might have to try making some of it too!!)

  4. My nonna soaked lady fingers in Marsala, but any licorous wine, like Oporto works wells.

Leave a Reply

